map placeholder
Click on a country for details.

Countries that Allow Dual Citizenship 2023

Dual citizenship allows a person to be a citizen of more than one country. Many countries around the world allow dual citizenship. Others, however, require its citizens to renounce all citizenship of other nations. Other nations deny citizenship in order to control multiple citizenships.

Getting citizenship in other countries can be relatively easy or difficult, depending on the country. Individuals born in countries with birthright citizenship likely have an easier time getting dual citizenship in other nations.

Even in countries where dual citizenship is allowed, there may be some restrictions. For example, a person with dual citizenship may not be able to serve in the military or hold public office. Some nations allow dual citizenship under specific conditions.

Each country has its own laws surrounding citizenship. In nations where it’s allowed, a person can hold dual citizenship simultaneously if each country's criteria are met. Below is a list of each country that allows dual citizenship.

What countries offer dual US citizenship?

The following countries have a relatively simple process for letting their citizens have dual citizenship with another country: Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua And Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malta, Mexico, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, and Vanuatu.

Frequently Asked Questions