Gulf Countries 2021

map placeholder

The Arab states of the Persian Gulf – also known as Gulf countries or the “Arabian Gulf” – is a set of Arab states that border the Persian Gulf. There is a total of seven countries that are part of this region. Almost all of the countries, except Iraq, are members of the Gulf Cooperation Council, a regional intergovernmental union. Iran is also located along the Persian Gulf, but this non-Arab state is not included in the Arabian Gulf.

Many of these countries share very similar cultures and values. From pastime activities such as theater, radio, and soap operas to music styles and a maritime-focused lifestyle, there are many similarities among residents throughout the region. They also have similar economies, bringing in significant revenue from petroleum. However, many nations are becoming less reliant on petroleum and have branched out into other sectors, including banking and tourism.

The states do have their differences, however, particularly when it comes to political structures. Some of the nations have a constitutional monarchy. At the same time, states like Saudi Arabia are hereditary monarchies, and the Sultanate of Oman has an advisory council that is elected.

As mentioned, there are seven Gulf countries. These countries are:

Iraq is the most populous of the Gulf countries, with a population of over 40 million people. Bahrain is the least populous nation, with about 1.72 million residents, per recent projections.

Gulf Countries 2021

Rank Country 2021 Population
Saudi Arabia35,340,683
United Arab Emirates9,991,089

Gulf Countries 2021