Sharia Law Countries 2021

map placeholder

Sharia law is the set of laws used to govern the lives of Muslims. These laws are derived from multiple sources, including the Muslim holy book, the Qur’an, and the sayings of the prophet Muhammad from the Hadith.

Under Sharia law, all human actions are regulated. All actions are categorized as obligatory, recommended, permitted, disliked, or permitted. Obligatory actions are mandatory. Forbidden actions, on the other hand, should not be performed. Recommended actions are actions that should be performed but aren’t necessarily required. Disliked actions are looked down upon but aren’t expressly forbidden. Most actions are categorized as permitted, which means that they are not encouraged or discouraged. Sharia law applies to all aspects of life, including public behavior, personal behavior, and even personal beliefs.

Most nations that follow Sharia law have their own interpretations. This means that no two nations are exactly alike in what is allowed, what is forbidden, and the consequences for engaging in forbidden actions. However, Sharia law has come under scrutiny in recent years due to what many believe is hard, intrusive, and restrictive laws, particularly against females. Some examples include amputation of the hands as a punishment for theft, the punishment of death for denying the Quran, and laws surrounding the rape of women. Sharia law countries are not secular countries

Several countries use Sharia law in full or in part. Those nations are:

  • Afghanistan
  • Egypt
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mauritania
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Sudan
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Yemen

Sharia Law Countries 2021

Country 2021 Population
Saudi Arabia35,340,683
United Arab Emirates9,991,089

Sharia Law Countries 2021