map placeholder
Click on a country for details.

Countries Ending in Y / Countries Whose Names End in Y

The United Nations recognizes 193 member countries and two non-member observers (Palestine and Vatican City/Holy See). Moreover, several UN member states (particularly the United States, France, and the United Kingdom) have dependent territories such as Greenland (Denmark), Puerto Rico (US), and Bermuda (UK), and there also exist many independent territories such as Kosovo and Western Sahara. Yet, despite this range of approximately 300 country and territory names, only eight countries and a handful of territories (particularly those in Antarctica with no permanent population) have names that end in the letter y.

Countries with Names Ending in Y:

  1. Germany
  2. Hungary
  1. Italy
  2. Norway
  3. Paraguay
  1. Turkey
  2. Uruguay
  3. Vatican City

Territories with Names Ending in Y:

  1. Australian Antarctic Territory (Australia territory)
  2. British Antarctic Territory (UK territory)
  3. British Indian Ocean Territory (UK territory)
  1. Chilean Antarctic Territory (Chile territory)
  2. Guernsey (UK crown dependency)
  3. Jersey (UK crown dependency)
  1. Ross Dependency (New Zealand Antarctica territory)
  2. Saint Barthelemy (France territory)


Germany is a Western European country with a population of more than 83.3 million people, making it the second-most populous country in Europe. Germany is a federal parliamentary republic whose capital city is Berlin. Germany is Europe's most robust economy and is considered one of the most innovative countries in the world. Germany is a member of the United Nations, the European Union, NATO, the G7, the G20, and the OECD.


Another member of the EU, Hungary joined with Austria in 1867 to form Austria-Hungary, also known as the Austro-Hungarian Empire—but the alliance collapsed in 1918 in the aftermath of World War I. Today, Hungary is an independent state whose capital city is Budapest and whose population is approximately 10.2 million people. However, as with many European countries, Hungary's population has declined since the 1980s due to low birth rates.Hungary is a member of several international organizations, such as the United Nations, NATO, WTO, World Bank, the Council of Europe, and more. Hungary attracts more than 15 million tourists per year thanks to attractions like the largest thermal water cave system in the world, the second-largest thermal lake in the world, and its arts, music, and history.


One of the world's most influential countries, Italy is both a founding and leading member of the European Union and boasts one of the world's largest economies. Italy's capital is Rome. With a population of approximately 59 million people, Italy is the third-most populous country in the European Union. Like Germany, France, and many Northern European countries, Italy has achieved a high level of human development, with high life expectancy, quality of life, healthcare, and education. Italy is also part of several international organizations such as the United Nations, NATO, the OECD, the WTO, the G7, the G20, and others. Italy is well known for its art, literature, music, philosophy, fashion, and cuisine.


Norway, officially known as the Kingdom of Norway, is a Nordic nation located in northwestern Europe. Norway occupies the western portion of the Scandinavian Peninsula. Norway's capital is Oslo, and the country's population is roughly 5.4 million people. Despite its geographical location, Norway is not a member of the European Union. Norway is a welfare state with universal healthcare and a robust social security system. The country consistently ranks near the top of the World Happiness Report and has one of the lowest crime rates in the world. Additionally, Norway is a founding member of the United Nations, NATO, and the European Free Trade Association (among others) as well as a member of the World Trade Organization, the European Economic Area, and the OECD.


Paraguay is one of only two landlocked countries on the South American continent. Paraguay's capital is Asunción, which is also one of the oldest cities in South America. Paraguay's population is around 6.8 million people. The country is an original member of the United Nations, the Organization of American States, the Non-aligned Movement, and the Lima Group. Like Norway, Paraguay is known to be one of the happiest countries in the world.


Turkey is a transcontinental country located mainly in Western Asia, but with a small portion of territory located on the Balkan Peninsula in southeastern Europe. Turkey's population is more than 85 million people, many of which live in its capital city of Ankara (approximately 5.7 million) and its largest city, Istanbul (approximately 16 million), which also straddles the line between Asia and Europe. Although roughly 95% of Turkey is located in Asia, it is generally considered a European country politically and culturally. Turkey is a member of the Council of Europe and an associate member of the European Economic Community. Turkey is also a member of the United Nations, NATO, the IMF, and the World Bank, and a founding member of the OECD and G20.


Uruguay is the second-smallest country in South America by area. Uruguay's population is estimated to be about 3.4 million people, some 1.8 million of whom live in the capital and largest city, Montevideo. Uruguay ranks as one of Latin America's most democratic countries, as well as one of its most peaceful, least corrupt, and most prosperous, with a strong middle class, and high freedom of press. Uruguay is also quite socially advanced, with legal gay marriage and abortion, as well as legal production, sale, and consumption of cannabis.

Vatican City

The smallest country in the world by both area (49 hectares / 121 acres) and population (approximately 500 people), Vatican City is an independent city-state located inside Rome, Italy. Its official language is Italian. Vatican City is the global headquarters of the Catholic Church and is a non-hereditary monarchy ruled by the church's head, the Pope, who also serves as the bishop of Rome. Vatican City lacks both an airport and highways but does have a national railway system, the shortest in the world.

Vatican City is left off of some lists of countries whose names end in y because its official Italian name, Stato della Città del Vaticano, translates to Vatican City State in English. However, in much the same way that France is rarely called by its official name, the République française (French Republic), few people refer to Vatican City by its official title. As such, its common name—which does end in y—is used for the purposes of this list.

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

How many countries end in the letter Y?

The names of 11 separate countries end in the letter Y.

Which countries end in Y?

The countries that end in the letter Y are Germany, Guernsey, Hungary, Italy, Jersey, Norway, Paraguay, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uruguay and Vatican City.

Frequently Asked Questions