Governors of California

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Term Start
Term End
Gavin NewsomJan 7, 2019-Democratic
Jerry BrownJan 3, 2011Jan 7, 2019Democratic
Arnold SchwarzeneggerNov 17, 2003Jan 3, 2011Republican
Gray DavisJan 4, 1999Nov 17, 2003Democratic
George DeukmejianJan 3, 1983Jan 7, 1991Republican
Jerry BrownJan 6, 1975Jan 3, 1983Democratic
Ronald ReaganJan 2, 1967Jan 6, 1975Republican
Pat BrownJan 5, 1959Jan 2, 1967Democratic
Goodwin KnightOct 5, 1953Jan 5, 1959Republican
Earl WarrenJan 4, 1943Oct 5, 1953Republican
Culbert OlsonJan 2, 1939Jan 4, 1943Democratic
Frank MerriamJun 2, 1934Jan 2, 1939Republican
James RolphJan 6, 1931Jun 2, 1934Republican
C. C. YoungJan 4, 1927Jan 6, 1931Republican
William StephensMar 15, 1917Jan 8, 1923Republican
Hiram JohnsonJan 3, 1911Mar 15, 1917Republican
James GillettJan 9, 1907Jan 3, 1911Republican
George PardeeJan 7, 1903Jan 9, 1907Republican
Henry GageJan 4, 1899Jan 7, 1903Republican
James BuddJan 11, 1895Jan 4, 1899Democratic
Henry MarkhamJan 8, 1891Jan 11, 1895Republican
Robert WatermanSep 12, 1887Jan 8, 1891Republican
Washington BartlettJan 8, 1887Sep 12, 1887Democratic
George StonemanJan 10, 1883Jan 8, 1887Democratic
George Clement PerkinsJan 8, 1880Jan 10, 1883Republican
William IrwinDec 9, 1875Jan 8, 1880Democratic
Romualdo PachecoFeb 27, 1875Dec 9, 1875Succeeded from Lieutenant Governor
Newton BoothDec 8, 1871Feb 27, 1875Republican
Henry Huntly HaightDec 5, 1867Dec 8, 1871Democratic
Frederick LowDec 10, 1863Dec 5, 1867Republican
Leland StanfordJan 10, 1862Dec 10, 1863Republican
John G. DowneyJan 14, 1860Jan 10, 1862Democratic
Milton LathamJan 9, 1860Jan 14, 1860Democratic
John B. WellerJan 8, 1858Jan 9, 1860Democratic
J. Neely JohnsonJan 9, 1856Jan 8, 1858American
John BiglerJan 8, 1852Jan 9, 1856Democratic
John McDougalJan 9, 1851Jan 8, 1852Democratic
Peter Hardeman BurnettDec 20, 1849Jan 9, 1851Democratic
showing: 38 rows

How Many Governors Has California Had In The History of the State?

The state of California is a somewhat newer addition to the United States, at least compared to some of the older states in the Union. California first achieved statehood on September 9th, 1850. You should also know that California only had a single governor before it became a state. That was Peter Hardeman Burnett. In the history of the state, California has had a total of 37 governors.

As you might know, California is known as a Democratic state. This is demonstrated by California governors. Three of the last four governors of California have been Democrats.

Full List of The Governors of California

It is relevant to note that it is uncommon for the same person to serve as the governor of California on several different occasions. This has actually happened only once in the history of California. Jerry Brown served as California governor from 1975 to 1983, then again from 2011-2019. The current governor of California is Gavin Newsom. Continue reading for the comprehensive list of California governors.

Current Governor
Gavin Newsom
Governor Since
Jan 7, 2019
# of Governors Since Statehood

Which party is the current governor of California?

The current governor of California is Gavin Newsom, a Democrat.

How many governors has California had?

There have been 37 governors of California, 16 Democrats, 19 Republicans, and 2 from other parties.

When was the last Democratic governor in California?

The last Democratic governor in California is Gavin Newsom, who has served from 2019 to the present day.

When was the last Republican governor in California?

The last Republican governor in California was Arnold Schwarzenegger, who served from 2003 to 2011.

Frequently Asked Questions