Governors of Connecticut

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

The State of Connecticut Has Had Many Governors in Its History

As you no doubt know, Connecticut was one of the original 13 colonies and became one of the original 13 states in the United States. Connecticut became a state on January 9th, 1788. Throughout its long history, the state of Connecticut has had a total of 69 governors. When it comes to presidential elections, the state of Connecticut is solidly a Democratic state. However, when it comes to Connecticut governors, two of the last four governors were Republicans and two were Democrats.

Check Out This Full List of Connecticut's Governors

Connecticut is notable in the fact that its gubernatorial elections don't always reflect that it is a solidly Democratic state. However, one more thing that stands out is that two of the state's first three governors died while in office. Ned Lamont is the current governor of Connecticut. Keep reading if you want to see the comprehensive list of Connecticut governors.

Current Governor
Ned Lamont
Governor Since
Jan 9, 2019
# of Governors Since Statehood

Governors of Connecticut

Which party is the current governor of Connecticut?

The current governor of Connecticut is Ned Lamont, a Democrat.

How many governors has Connecticut had?

There have been 69 governors of Connecticut, 21 Democrats, 30 Republicans, and 18 from other parties.

When was the last Democratic governor in Connecticut?

The last Democratic governor in Connecticut is Ned Lamont, who has served from 2019 to the present day.

When was the last Republican governor in Connecticut?

The last Republican governor in Connecticut was Jodi Rell, who served from 2004 to 2011.

Frequently Asked Questions