Governors of Minnesota

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Minnesota has had a total of 40 Governors since that joined the United States back in 1858. The current governor of Minnesota is Tim Walz, serving as the governor of Minnesota since 2019. He is a member of the Democratic-Farmer-Labor party, which is the party that stands in opposition to the Republican Party in the state of Minnesota. The Democratic-Farmer-Labor has been in control of the office of the governor of Minnesota for the past two governorships.

Which Party Has Been in Office the Most in Minnesota?

Even though Minnesota has had a nice mixture of governors from different parties, the Democratic-Farmer-Labor party has been in control for most of the past few decades. Both Tim Walz and Mark Dayton, who served as the governor of Minnesota from 2011 to 2019, have been members of the Democratic-Farmer-Labor. Prior to Mark Dayton, the Republican party was in control of the governor’s office from 2003 to 2011, led by Tim Pawlenty. The Republican party was also in control of the office from 1911 to 1999 when Arne H. Carlson served as the governor of Minnesota.

Who Was the First Governor of Minnesota?

The very first governor of Minnesota was Henry H. Sibley, who served as the governor of Minnesota from 1858 to 1860. After he left office in 1860, Minnesota was led by a long run of Republican governors. Starting with Alexander Ramsey in 1860, a Republican governor was in control of Minnesota until 1899, when David M. Clough was in office. After David M. Clough left office, John Lind took over for two years, from 1899 to 1901, as a member of the Democratic party. That ended a streak of 12 consecutive governors of Minnesota who came from the Republican party. There have been some changes to the parties during the past few decades.

Current Governor
Tim Walz
Governor Since
Jan 7, 2019
# of Governors Since Statehood

Governors of Minnesota

Which party is the current governor of Minnesota?

The current governor of Minnesota is Tim Walz, a Democrat-Farmer-Labor.

How many governors has Minnesota had?

There have been 40 governors of Minnesota, 4 Democrats, 24 Republicans, and 12 from other parties.

Frequently Asked Questions