Governors of Nevada

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Term Start
Term End
Henry G. BlasdelDec 5, 1864Jan 2, 1871Republican
Lewis R. BradleyJan 2, 1871Jan 6, 1879Democratic
John H. KinkeadJan 6, 1879Jan 1, 1883Republican
Jewett W. AdamsJan 1, 1883Jan 3, 1887Democratic
Charles C. StevensonJan 3, 1887Sep 21, 1890Republican
Frank BellSep 21, 1890Jan 5, 1891Republican
Roswell K. ColcordJan 5, 1891Jan 7, 1895Republican
John E. JonesJan 7, 1895Apr 10, 1896Silver
Reinhold SadlerApr 10, 1896Jan 5, 1903Silver
John SparksJan 5, 1903May 22, 1908Silver-Democratic
Denver S. DickersonMay 22, 1908Jan 2, 1911Silver-Democratic
Tasker L. OddieJan 2, 1911Jan 4, 1915Republican
Emmet D. BoyleJan 4, 1915Jan 1, 1923Democratic
James G. ScrughamJan 1, 1923Jan 3, 1927Democratic
Fred B. BalzarJan 3, 1927Mar 21, 1934Republican
Morley GriswoldMar 21, 1934Jan 7, 1935Republican
Richard Kirman Sr.Jan 7, 1935Jan 2, 1939Democratic
Edward P. CarvilleJan 2, 1939Jul 24, 1945Democratic
Vail PittmanJul 24, 1945Jan 1, 1951Democratic
Charles H. RussellJan 1, 1951Jan 5, 1959Republican
Grant SawyerJan 5, 1959Jan 2, 1967Democratic
Paul LaxaltJan 2, 1967Jan 4, 1971Republican
Mike O'CallaghanJan 4, 1971Jan 1, 1979Democratic
Robert ListJan 1, 1979Jan 3, 1983Republican
Richard BryanJan 3, 1983Jan 3, 1989Democratic
Bob MillerJan 3, 1989Jan 4, 1999Democratic
Kenny GuinnJan 4, 1999Jan 1, 2007Republican
Jim GibbonsJan 1, 2007Jan 3, 2011Republican
Brian SandovalJan 3, 2011Jan 7, 2019Republican
Steve SisolakJan 7, 2019Jan 7, 2023Democratic
Joe LombardoJan 7, 2023-Republican
showing: 31 rows

Nevada has had a total of 31 governors since it joined the United States. The most recent governor was elected in November 2022. The current governor of Nevada is Joe Lombardo. He is a member of the Republican Party, and he took over for Steve Sisolak, who served as the governor of Nevada beginning in 2019.

Who Was the Last Democratic Governor of Nevada?

The most recent governor of Nevada was a member of the Democratic Party. Steve Sisolak began serving as governor of Nevada in 2019. Prior to taking office, Nevada had a long run of Republican Governors. Kenny Guinn served as the governor of Nevada from 1999 to 2007. Jim Gibbons served as the governor of Nevada from 2007 to 2011. Brian Sandoval served as governor of Nevada from 2011 to 2019. All three men were members of the Republican Party. Prior to the long run of Republican governors, Bob Miller served as governor of Nevada for 10 years, from 1989 to 1999. He was a member of the Democratic party.

Who Was the First Governor of Nevada?

Nevada joined the United States during the Civil War, being admitted to the Union in 1864. The first governor of Nevada was Henry G. Blasdel, who served as the governor of Nevada from 1864 to 1871. When Nevada first joined the United States, it alternated Republican and Democratic governors. After Henry G. Blasdel, the next governor was Louis R. Bradley. He was a member of the Democratic party. Then, power shifted back to the Republican party, with John H. Kinkead taking over and serving as the governor of Nevada from 1879 to 1883. After he left office, power shifted back to the Democratic party, with Jewett W. Adams serving as the governor of Nevada from 1883 to 1887.

Current Governor
Joe Lombardo
Governor Since
Jan 7, 2023
# of Governors Since Statehood

Governors of Nevada

Which party is the current governor of Nevada?

The current governor of Nevada is Joe Lombardo, a Republican.

How many governors has Nevada had?

There have been 31 governors of Nevada, 12 Democrats, 15 Republicans, and 4 from other parties.

When was the last Republican governor in Nevada?

The last Republican governor in Nevada is Joe Lombardo, who has served from 2023 to the present day.

When was the last Democrat governor in Nevada?

The last Democrat governor in Nevada was Steve Sisolak, who served from 2019 to 2023.

Frequently Asked Questions