Governors of Tennessee

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Located in the southeastern United States, Tennessee is considered to be one of the bastions of the Republican party, and this is certainly reflected in its history of governors. Tennessee has had a total of 51 governors since it was admitted to the United States, and the current governor is Bill Lee. He is a member of the Republican Party, and he has served as the governor of Tennessee since 2019. Even though he has had to address a variety of topics during his time, the biggest issue he has had to deal with is the Coronavirus pandemic.

Who Was the Last Governor of TN From the Democratic Party?

The last governor of Tennessee from the Democratic party was Phil Bredesen. He served two terms as the governor of Tennessee from 2003 to 2011. After that, Bill Haslam took over as the governor of Tennessee from 2011 to 2019, and he was a member of the Republican party. Then, Billy took over after Bill Haslam finished out his second term. Governors in Tennessee are limited to two terms. In the middle of the twentieth century, Tennessee actually had a run of several consecutive Democratic party governors in a row.

Who Was the First Governor of TN?

Even though Tennessee was not one of the original 13 colonies, it was one of the first states to join the United States. The very first governor of Tennessee was John Sevier. He served as the governor of Tennessee from 1796 to 1801, and he was a member of the Democratic-Republican party. That large party held the governor’s office for several decades, with the first seven governors of Tennessee all coming from the Democratic-Republican party. In the early 19th century, many governors served for six years, but now the governor of Tennessee serves for a four-year term.

Current Governor
Bill Lee
Governor Since
Jan 19, 2019
# of Governors Since Statehood

Governors of Tennessee

Which party is the current governor of Tennessee?

The current governor of Tennessee is Bill Lee, a Republican.

How many governors has Tennessee had?

There have been 51 governors of Tennessee, 31 Democrats, 11 Republicans, and 11 from other parties.

When was the last Republican governor in Tennessee?

The last Republican governor in Tennessee is Bill Lee, who has served from 2019 to the present day.

When was the last Democrat governor in Tennessee?

The last Democrat governor in Tennessee was Phil Bredesen, who served from 2003 to 2011.

Frequently Asked Questions