Cities in Jefferson County, New York by Population (2024)

There are 48 cities in Jefferson County, New York.

Note: As defined by the US Census Bureau, a city's official boundaries often extend miles beyond the city itself and may even cross county lines. As such, several thousand US cities officially exist in two or more counties (and therefore appear on multiple counties' lists of cities.)

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

2024 Population
2020 Census
Annual Change
Density (mi²)
Area (mi²)
Watertown1New York24,33424,568-0.24%2,6949.03
Fort Drum2New York17,10413,0342.41%1,19314.34
Calcium3New York3,6963,5481.01%6595.61
Gouverneur4New York3,6733,6190.38%1,6762.19
Carthage5New York3,2843,318-0.24%1,3542.42
West Carthage6New York1,7661,7680%1,3501.31
Clayton7New York1,7061,732-0.35%1,0651.60
Adams8New York1,6861,6880%1,1671.45
Sackets Harbor9New York1,3771,3750.07%5972.31
Black River10New York1,2461,262-0.32%7001.78
Philadelphia11New York1,1581,172-0.26%1,2090.96
Great Bend12New York1,0871,329-5.23%1885.79
Adams Center13New York1,0441,0001.06%2154.86
Dexter14New York1,0081,012-0.1%1,5140.67
Alexandria Bay15New York9569560%1,2760.75
Brownville16New York9449440%1,5130.62
Theresa17New York754760-0.13%5971.26
Pamelia Center18New York742441-1.85%5301.40
Cape Vincent19New York7347340%1,0440.70
Lacona20New York668672-0.15%6011.11
Copenhagen21New York6666600.3%5641.18
Sandy Creek22New York6266260%4641.35
Evans Mills23New York617625-0.32%7550.82
Chaumont24New York605611-0.17%6150.98
Antwerp25New York514518-0.19%5121
Hailesboro26New York483776-12.97%1034.70
Glen Park27New York4484440.22%6270.71
Felts Mills28New York409451-2.39%6980.59
La Fargeville29New York327733-23.6%993.31
Mannsville30New York3243220.31%3610.90
Redwood31New York3244833.19%1651.97
Pierrepont Manor32New York322416-6.67%4160.77
Belleville33New York2992791.7%4540.66
Hammond34New York2872850.35%4900.59
Depauville35New York270224-17.93%279.82
Richville36New York260266-0.38%3520.74
Deferiet37New York2582580%3820.68
Henderson38New York2402360.42%4570.53
Rodman39New York2331429.39%1,4650.16
Thousand Island Park40New York2241551.82%7540.30
Ellisburg41New York2162140.46%2161
Plessis42New York196370-15.15%5660.35
Lorraine43New York1465512.31%2980.49
Natural Bridge44New York130228-15.58%1011.28
Oxbow45New York114122-1.72%2820.40
Fishers Landing46New York4676-8%1020.45
Herrings47New York01320%00.15
Three Mile Bay48New York01820%00.28
showing: 48 rows

Note: City markers shown outside the county boundary mean that a part of the city extends into this county, but is primarily located in an adjacent county.

What is the largest city in Jefferson County, New York?

Watertown is the largest city in Jefferson County.

What is the smallest city in Jefferson County, New York?

Three Mile Bay is the smallest city in Jefferson County.

How many cities are in Jefferson County?

There are 48 cities in Jefferson County, New York.

Frequently Asked Questions