Governors of Arizona

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Term Start
Term End
Katie HobbsJan 5, 2023-Democrat
Doug DuceyJan 5, 2015Jan 5, 2023Republican
Jan BrewerJan 21, 2009Jan 5, 2015Republican
Janet NapolitanoJan 6, 2003Jan 21, 2009Democratic
Jane Dee HullSep 5, 1997Jan 6, 2003Republican
Fife SymingtonMar 6, 1991Sep 5, 1997Republican
Rose MoffordApr 4, 1988Mar 6, 1991Democratic
Evan MechamJan 5, 1987Apr 4, 1988Republican
Bruce BabbittMar 4, 1978Jan 5, 1987Democratic
Wesley BolinOct 20, 1977Mar 4, 1978Democratic
Raúl Héctor CastroJan 6, 1975Oct 20, 1977Democratic
Jack WilliamsJan 2, 1967Jan 6, 1975Republican
Samuel Pearson Goddard Jr.Jan 4, 1965Jan 2, 1967Democratic
Paul FanninJan 5, 1959Jan 4, 1965Republican
Ernest McFarlandJan 3, 1955Jan 5, 1959Democratic
John Howard PyleJan 1, 1951Jan 3, 1955Republican
Dan Edward GarveyMay 25, 1948Jan 1, 1951Democratic
Sidney Preston OsbornJan 6, 1941May 25, 1948Democratic
Robert Taylor JonesJan 2, 1939Jan 6, 1941Democratic
Rawghlie Clement StanfordJan 4, 1937Jan 2, 1939Democratic
Benjamin Baker MoeurJan 2, 1933Jan 4, 1937Democratic
George W. P. HuntJan 5, 1931Jan 2, 1933Democratic
John Calhoun PhillipsJan 7, 1929Jan 5, 1931Republican
George W. P. HuntJan 1, 1923Jan 7, 1929Democratic
Thomas Edward CampbellJan 6, 1919Jan 1, 1923Republican
George W. P. HuntDec 25, 1917Jan 6, 1919Democratic
Thomas Edward CampbellJan 1, 1917Dec 25, 1917Republican
George W. P. HuntFeb 14, 1912Jan 1, 1917Democratic
showing: 28 rows

How Many Governors Has Arizona Had in Its History?

Relatively speaking, Arizona is one of the newer states in the United States. Arizona officially became a US state on February 14, 1915. This means it is a newer US state compared to many other states that joined the US in the 18th and 19th centuries. The state of Arizona has had 24 governors in its history.

In the modern era, Arizona governors have varied a bit from Democrats to Republicans. However, four of Arizona's five most recent governors were all Republicans. It is also good to point out that Arizona has had the most female governors out of any state with five.

Who Is On The Full List of Arizona Governors?

Since Arizona is a somewhat more recent addition to the U.S., it has not had as many governors as some other states. However, Arizona has still had 24 governors since it achieved statehood. The current governor of Arizona is Katie Hobbs. Keep reading for the full list of Arizona's state governors.

Current Governor
Katie Hobbs
Governor Since
Jan 5, 2023
# of Governors Since Statehood

Which party is the current governor of Arizona?

The current governor of Arizona is Katie Hobbs, a Democrat.

How many governors has Arizona had?

There have been 24 governors of Arizona, 13 Democrats, 10 Republicans, and 1 from other parties.

Frequently Asked Questions