Governors of Arkansas

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

What Is the Total Number of Arkansas Governors in the State's History?

The state of Arkansas is one of the older states in the US. Arkansas officially became a US state on June 15th, 1836, joining as the US's 25th state. It was part of the Louisiana Purchase.

In total, the state of Arkansas has had 57 governors since it gained statehood back in 1836. While Arkansas is a more Republican-leaning state, both Republicans and Democrats have served as the governor of the state in recent years. Out of the last five governors of Arkansas, three were Democrats and two were Republicans.

Check Out This Full List of Arkansas's Governors

The state of Arkansas differs from some other states in that it is quite rare for one person to serve as the state's governor more than once. Bill Clinton is the most significant exception to this rule, since he served as the governor of Arkansas from 1979 to 1981, then again from 1983 to 1992. The current governor of Arkansas is Sarah Huckabee Sanders. Read on for a complete list of all of the Arkansas governors in the state's history.

Current Governor
Sarah Huckabee Sanders
Governor Since
Jan 10, 2023
# of Governors Since Statehood

Governors of Arkansas

Which party is the current governor of Arkansas?

The current governor of Arkansas is Sarah Huckabee Sanders, a Republican.

How many governors has Arkansas had?

There have been 57 governors of Arkansas, 45 Democrats, 8 Republicans, and 4 from other parties.

When was the last Republican governor in Arkansas?

The last Republican governor in Arkansas is Sarah Huckabee Sanders, who has served from 2023 to the present day.

When was the last Democrat governor in Arkansas?

The last Democrat governor in Arkansas was Mike Beebe, who served from 2007 to 2015.

Frequently Asked Questions