Governors of Delaware

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

How Many Governors Has the State of Delaware Had?

The state of Delaware is one of the oldest states in the United States. In fact, it was one of the original 13 colonies founded by British settlers in what later became the US. As you might expect, Delaware was also one of the original 13 states after the US declared independence from the British. The state of Delaware has had 71 governors in total since it achieved statehood in 1787. Delaware did have a few governors before it became a state.

Full List of Delaware Governors

As one of the earliest states, Delaware has had many more governors than quite a few other states. One thing to note is that Delaware also has not had the same person serve as the governor on separate occasions very often. You should also know that the last four Delaware governors in a row have all been Democrats. The current governor of Delaware is John Carney. Keep reading for a full list of every governor in Delaware's history.

Current Governor
John Carney
Governor Since
Jan 17, 2017
# of Governors Since Statehood

Governors of Delaware

Which party is the current governor of Delaware?

The current governor of Delaware is John Carney, a Democrat.

How many governors has Delaware had?

There have been 71 governors of Delaware, 21 Democrats, 17 Republicans, and 33 from other parties.

When was the last Democratic governor in Delaware?

The last Democratic governor in Delaware is John Carney, who has served from 2017 to the present day.

When was the last Republican governor in Delaware?

The last Republican governor in Delaware was Dale E. Wolf, who served from 1992 to 1993.

Frequently Asked Questions