Governors of Indiana

History of Indiana Governors

Since statehood, there have been 49 different governors of Indiana. The first governor was Jonathan Jennings, who was elected in 1816. Jennings was a representative of the Democratic-Republican Party. Indiana has seen governors from the Democratic-Republican, Independent, and Whig Parties and the modern Democratic and Republican Parties we know today.

There has not been much stability in political allegiance in this state, and every few years, the leading political party for the governor's office is subject to switch. Out of 49 different governors, 21 have been Democratic, while 23 have been Republican, indicating a reasonably balanced split. The past three governors in Indiana have been Republican. One of the most notable governors of Indiana was Mike Pence, who went on to serve as Vice President of the United States. Pence was governor of Indiana from 2013 to 2017.

Current Indiana Governor

The current governor in Indiana is Eric Holcomb, who is a representative of the Republican Party. He was elected into office on January 9, 2017. Holcomb followed governor Mike Pence, who left office to serve as the Vice President of the United States. In 2016, Holcomb toyed with the idea of running for a Senate position but eventually withdrew from the race.

Governors of Indiana