Governors of Iowa

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

History of Iowa Governors

The first governor of Iowa was Ansel Briggs, who was elected to the position in 1846. Briggs served for four years and was a representative of the Democratic Party. Following Briggs, Iowa saw some shifting political parties, changing between the Democratic Party and Whig Party.

Beginning in 1858, a robust line of Republican governors held office, continuing through the modern-day. Between 1858 and today, there have only been eight Democratic governors. The most recent Democrat to represent Iowa was Chet Culver, who served as governor between 2007 and 2011. Since then, Republicans have continued to hold office, even to the present-day governor.

Current Iowa Governor

The Current Iowa governor is Kim Reynolds, who began serving as governor in 2017. Previously, Reynolds served as the Lieutenant Governor of Iowa. She represented the Republican Party and replaced the former governor, Terry Brandstad. The former governor, Brandstad, stepped down from his position as governor to serve as the US Ambassador to China. Reynolds is the first woman elected as the governor of Iowa but won her full-term election narrowly. She beat the Democratic competitor by just 2.5% of the vote, which made a much closer election than anticipated by political experts.

Current Governor
Kim Reynolds
Governor Since
May 24, 2017
# of Governors Since Statehood

Governors of Iowa

Which party is the current governor of Iowa?

The current governor of Iowa is Kim Reynolds, a Republican.

How many governors has Iowa had?

There have been 41 governors of Iowa, 10 Democrats, 30 Republicans, and 1 from other parties.

When was the last Republican governor in Iowa?

The last Republican governor in Iowa is Kim Reynolds, who has served from 2017 to the present day.

When was the last Democrat governor in Iowa?

The last Democrat governor in Iowa was Chet Culver, who served from 2007 to 2011.

Frequently Asked Questions