Governors of Kentucky

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Term Start
Term End
Andy BeshearDec 10, 2019-Democratic
Matt BevinDec 8, 2015Dec 10, 2019Republican
Steve BeshearDec 11, 2007Dec 8, 2015Democratic
Ernie FletcherDec 9, 2003Dec 11, 2007Republican
Paul E. PattonDec 12, 1995Dec 9, 2003Democratic
Brereton JonesDec 10, 1991Dec 12, 1995Democratic
Wallace WilkinsonDec 8, 1987Dec 10, 1991Democratic
Martha Layne CollinsDec 13, 1983Dec 8, 1987Democratic
John Y. Brown Jr.Dec 11, 1979Dec 13, 1983Democratic
Julian CarrollDec 28, 1974Dec 11, 1979Democratic
Wendell FordDec 7, 1971Dec 28, 1974Democratic
Louie NunnDec 12, 1967Dec 7, 1971Republican
Ned BreathittDec 10, 1963Dec 12, 1967Democratic
Bert CombsDec 8, 1959Dec 10, 1963Democratic
Happy ChandlerDec 13, 1955Dec 8, 1959Democratic
Lawrence WetherbyNov 27, 1950Dec 13, 1955Democratic
Earle ClementsDec 9, 1947Nov 27, 1950Democratic
Simeon WillisDec 7, 1943Dec 9, 1947Republican
Keen JohnsonOct 9, 1939Dec 7, 1943Democratic
Happy ChandlerDec 10, 1935Oct 9, 1939Democratic
Ruby LaffoonDec 8, 1931Dec 10, 1935Democratic
Flem D. SampsonDec 13, 1927Dec 8, 1931Republican
William J. FieldsDec 11, 1923Dec 13, 1927Democratic
Edwin P. MorrowDec 9, 1919Dec 11, 1923Republican
James D. BlackMay 19, 1919Dec 9, 1919Democratic
Augustus Owsley StanleyDec 7, 1915May 19, 1919Democratic
James B. McCrearyDec 12, 1911Dec 7, 1915Democratic
Augustus E. WillsonDec 10, 1907Dec 12, 1911Republican
J. C. W. BeckhamFeb 3, 1900Dec 10, 1907Democratic
William GoebelJan 31, 1900Feb 3, 1900Democratic
William S. TaylorDec 12, 1899Jan 31, 1900Republican
William O'Connell BradleyDec 10, 1895Dec 12, 1899Republican
John Y. BrownSep 2, 1891Dec 10, 1895Democratic
Simon Bolivar BucknerAug 30, 1887Sep 2, 1891Democratic
J. Proctor KnottSep 5, 1883Aug 30, 1887Democratic
Luke P. BlackburnSep 2, 1879Sep 5, 1883Democratic
James B. McCrearyAug 31, 1875Sep 2, 1879Democratic
Preston LeslieFeb 3, 1871Aug 31, 1875Democratic
John W. StevensonSep 8, 1867Feb 3, 1871Democratic
John L. HelmSep 3, 1867Sep 8, 1867Democratic
Thomas E. BramletteSep 1, 1863Sep 3, 1867Democratic
James Fisher RobinsonAug 18, 1862Sep 1, 1863Democratic
Beriah MagoffinAug 30, 1859Aug 18, 1862Democratic
Charles S. MoreheadSep 4, 1855Aug 30, 1859Know Nothing
Lazarus W. PowellSep 2, 1851Sep 4, 1855Democratic
John L. HelmJul 31, 1850Sep 2, 1851Whig
John J. CrittendenSep 6, 1848Jul 31, 1850Whig
William OwsleySep 4, 1844Sep 6, 1848Whig
Robert P. LetcherSep 2, 1840Sep 4, 1844Whig
Charles A. WickliffeAug 27, 1839Sep 2, 1840Whig
James ClarkAug 30, 1836Aug 27, 1839Whig
James Turner MoreheadFeb 21, 1834Aug 30, 1836National Republican
John BreathittSep 4, 1832Feb 21, 1834Democratic
Thomas MetcalfeAug 26, 1828Sep 4, 1832National Republican
Joseph DeshaAug 24, 1824Aug 26, 1828Democratic-Republican
John AdairAug 29, 1820Aug 24, 1824Democratic-Republican
Gabriel SlaughterOct 14, 1816Aug 29, 1820Democratic-Republican
George MadisonSep 5, 1816Oct 14, 1816Democratic-Republican
Isaac ShelbyAug 24, 1812Sep 5, 1816Democratic-Republican
Charles ScottSep 1, 1808Aug 24, 1812Democratic-Republican
Christopher GreenupSep 5, 1804Sep 1, 1808Democratic-Republican
James GarrardJun 7, 1796Sep 5, 1804Democratic-Republican
Isaac ShelbyJun 4, 1792Jun 7, 1796Democratic-Republican
showing: 63 rows

History of Kentucky Governors

Kentucky is an old state and has a long line of Kentucky governors, spanning several decades and political parties. The first governor of Kentucky was Isaac Shelby, who was elected in 1792. Shelby served as governor for four years and represented the Democratic-Republican Party. Following Selby, eight more Democratic-Republican governors took office. Kentucky has also had governors from the National Republican Party, the Know Nothing Party, and the Whig Party.

Democratic governors had a stranglehold on Kentucky politics, with almost 40 years of Democratic governors from 1859 until 1895. Since then, Democratic governors have continued to dominate the Kentucky political scene, although occasionally, a Republican governor is elected to office. Most Kentucky governors serve four years and are simply removed from their political position because their term is officially ended.

Current Kentucky Governor

The current governor of Kentucky is Andy Beshear, who was elected in 2019. He is a member of the Democratic political party. Beshear works as an attorney but has a family history rooted in Kentucky politics. Andy Beshear is the son of the 61st governor of Kentucky, Steve Beshear. Andy Beshear narrowly won the election, defeating his opponent by 0.4% of the total vote.

Current Governor
Andy Beshear
Governor Since
Dec 10, 2019
# of Governors Since Statehood

Which party is the current governor of Kentucky?

The current governor of Kentucky is Andy Beshear, a Democrat.

How many governors has Kentucky had?

There have been 59 governors of Kentucky, 34 Democrats, 9 Republicans, and 17 from other parties.

When was the last Democratic governor in Kentucky?

The last Democratic governor in Kentucky is Andy Beshear, who has served from 2019 to the present day.

When was the last Republican governor in Kentucky?

The last Republican governor in Kentucky was Matt Bevin, who served from 2015 to 2019.

Frequently Asked Questions