Governors of Maine

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

History of Maine Governors

Maine is one of the oldest states in the United States and was admitted in 1820 as the 23rd state in the country. This state has a long line of governors that span several political parties. The first governor of Maine was William King, who belonged to the Democratic-Republican Party. His term was short-lived, lasting only a year before he resigned. Short official terms have plagued the Maine governors from the early days, with many officials serving a year or less before leaving the office or being defeated when attempting reelection. Governors have represented the National Republic and Whig Parties and the traditional Democratic and Republican Parties known today.

Between 1855 and 1967, Maine saw an overwhelming amount of Republican governors, but beginning in 1967, the political scene began to change. Although Republicans were still occasionally elected, more Independent and Democratic officials started winning elections, creating a more balanced political landscape and history.

Current Maine Governor

The current governor in Maine is Janet Mills, who was elected in 2019. She is a member of the Democratic Party. Before serving as the governor, Janet Mills was the Maine Attorney General, winning two separate occasions. Janet Mills is the state's first female governor. Mills won reelection in 2022.

Governor Since
Jan 2, 2019
# of Governors Since Statehood

Governors of Maine

Which party is the current governor of Maine?

The current governor of Maine is null, a Democrat.

How many governors has Maine had?

There have been 69 governors of Maine, 20 Democrats, 37 Republicans, and 13 from other parties.

When was the last Democratic governor in Maine?

The last Democratic governor in Maine is null, who has served from 2019 to the present day.

When was the last Republican governor in Maine?

The last Republican governor in Maine was Paul LePage, who served from 2011 to 2019.

Frequently Asked Questions