Governors of Maryland

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

History of Maryland Governors

Maryland is one of the original 13 colonies that helped establish the United States. It follows that Maryland has a long line of governors that span several political parties, including the Independent, Federalist, Democratic-Republican, Anti-Jacksonian, Jacksonian, Whig, Union parties, and the traditional Republican and Democratic parties most people know today.

The first governor of Maryland was Thomas Johnson, who served from 1777 until 1779 as part of the Independent Party. Independent officials continued to hold office until 1788 when a string of Federalist governors took over. From 1788 until about 1872, Maryland saw a slew of governors, all serving very short terms. Some governors in the 1830s held office for only one year, including Daniel Martin and Thomas King Carroll. In 1872, William Pinkney Whyte was elected, beginning the traditional line of Democratic and Republican officials.

Current Maryland Governor

Wes Moore is the current Governor of Maryland, and he represents the Democratic Party. He follows Republican Larry Hogan who was elected into office in 2015. Larry Hogan was routinely voted one of the most popular governors and was praised for handling and controlling the Covid-19 pandemic within his state.

Current Governor
Wes Moore
Governor Since
Jan 21, 2023
# of Governors Since Statehood

Governors of Maryland

Which party is the current governor of Maryland?

The current governor of Maryland is Wes Moore, a Democrat.

How many governors has Maryland had?

There have been 65 governors of Maryland, 29 Democrats, 7 Republicans, and 29 from other parties.

When was the last Democratic governor in Maryland?

The last Democratic governor in Maryland is Wes Moore, who has served from 2023 to the present day.

When was the last Republican governor in Maryland?

The last Republican governor in Maryland was Larry Hogan, who served from 2015 to 2023.

Frequently Asked Questions