Governors of Mississippi

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Term Start
Term End
David HolmesDec 10, 1817Jan 5, 1820Democratic-Republican
George PoindexterJan 5, 1820Jan 7, 1822Democratic-Republican
Walter LeakeJan 7, 1822Nov 17, 1825Democratic-Republican
Gerard BrandonNov 17, 1825Jan 7, 1826Democratic
David HolmesJan 7, 1826Jul 25, 1826Democratic
Gerard BrandonJul 25, 1826Jan 9, 1832Democratic
Abram M. ScottJan 9, 1832Jul 12, 1833National Republican
Charles LynchJul 12, 1833Nov 20, 1833National Republican
Hiram RunnelsNov 20, 1833Nov 20, 1835Democratic
John A. QuitmanDec 3, 1835Jan 7, 1836Whig
Charles LynchJan 7, 1836Jan 8, 1838Whig
Alexander G. McNuttJan 8, 1838Jan 10, 1842Democratic
Tilghman TuckerJan 10, 1842Jan 10, 1844Democratic
Albert G. BrownJan 10, 1844Jan 10, 1848Democratic
Joseph W. MatthewsJan 10, 1848Jan 10, 1850Democratic
John A. QuitmanJan 10, 1850Feb 3, 1851Democratic
John Isaac GuionFeb 3, 1851Nov 4, 1851Democratic
James WhitfieldNov 24, 1851Jan 10, 1852Democratic
Henry S. FooteJan 10, 1852Jan 5, 1854Union Democratic
John J. PettusJan 5, 1854Jan 10, 1854Democratic
John J. McRaeJan 10, 1854Nov 16, 1857Democratic
William McWillieNov 16, 1857Nov 21, 1859Democratic
John J. PettusNov 21, 1859Nov 16, 1863Democratic
Charles ClarkNov 16, 1863May 22, 1865Democratic
William L. SharkeyJun 13, 1865Oct 16, 1865Provisional
Benjamin G. HumphreysOct 16, 1865Jun 15, 1868Democratic
Adelbert AmesJun 15, 1868Mar 10, 1870Military
James L. AlcornMar 10, 1870Nov 30, 1871Republican
Ridgley C. PowersNov 30, 1871Jan 4, 1874Republican
Adelbert AmesJan 4, 1874Mar 29, 1876Republican
John M. StoneMar 29, 1876Jan 29, 1882Democratic
Robert LowryJan 2, 1882Jan 13, 1890Democratic
John M. StoneJan 13, 1890Jan 20, 1896Democratic
Anselm J. McLaurinJan 20, 1896Jan 16, 1900Democratic
Andrew H. LonginoJan 16, 1900Jan 19, 1904Democratic
James K. VardamanJan 19, 1904Jan 21, 1908Democratic
Edmond NoelJan 21, 1908Jan 16, 1912Democratic
Earl L. BrewerJan 16, 1912Jan 18, 1916Democratic
Theodore G. BilboJan 18, 1916Jan 18, 1920Democratic
Lee M. RussellJan 18, 1920Jan 18, 1924Democratic
Henry L. WhitfieldJan 22, 1924Mar 18, 1927Democratic
Dennis MurphreeMar 18, 1927Jan 16, 1928Democratic
Theodore G. BilboJan 16, 1928Jan 19, 1932Democratic
Martin Sennet ConnerJan 19, 1932Jan 21, 1936Democratic
Hugh L. WhiteJan 21, 1936Jan 16, 1940Democratic
Paul B. Johnson Sr.Jan 16, 1940Dec 26, 1943Democratic
Dennis MurphreeDec 26, 1943Jan 18, 1944Democratic
Thomas L. BaileyJan 18, 1944Nov 2, 1946Democratic
Fielding L. WrightNov 2, 1946Jan 22, 1952Democratic
Hugh L. WhiteJan 22, 1952Jan 17, 1956Democratic
James P. ColemanJan 17, 1956Jan 19, 1960Democratic
Ross BarnettJan 19, 1960Jan 21, 1964Democratic
Paul B. Johnson Jr.Jan 21, 1964Jan 16, 1968Democratic
John Bell WilliamsJan 16, 1968Jan 18, 1972Democratic
William WallerJan 18, 1972Jan 20, 1976Democratic
Cliff FinchJan 20, 1976Jan 22, 1980Democratic
William WinterJan 22, 1980Jan 10, 1984Democratic
William AllainJan 10, 1984Jan 12, 1988Democratic
Ray MabusJan 12, 1988Jan 14, 1992Democratic
Kirk FordiceJan 14, 1992Jan 11, 2000Republican
Ronnie MusgroveJan 11, 2000Jan 13, 2004Democratic
Haley BarbourJan 13, 2004Jan 10, 2012Republican
Phil BryantJan 10, 2012Jan 14, 2020Republican
Tate ReevesJan 14, 2020-Republican
showing: 64 rows

Mississippi is in the Deep South and has had a string of Republican governors recently. Even though Mississippi was not one of the original 13 colonies, it is one of the oldest states in the country, joining the union shortly after the conclusion of the War of 1812. Since Mississippi joined the United States, the state has a total of 54 governors. The current governor of Mississippi is Tate Reeves, and he has held the office since 2020. He is a member of the Republican Party.

When Was the Last Time Mississippi Had a Governor From the Democratic Party?

Since 1992, the Republicans have been in control of the governor’s office of Mississippi for all but one term. Tate Reeves is the current governor of Mississippi, and he is from the Republican Party. Prior to him, Phil Bryant served as the governor of Mississippi for eight years, from 2012 to 2020. Prior to Phil Bryant, Haley Barbour was the governor of Mississippi from 2004 to 2012. Both of these individuals were members of the Republican Party. Ronnie Musgrove served as the governor of Mississippi from 2000 to 2004, and he was a member of the Democratic Party. Before Bonnie Musgrove, Kirk Fordice served as the governor of Mississippi from 1992 to 2000, and he was a member of the Republican party.

Who Was the First Governor of Mississippi?

The very first governor of Mississippi was David Holmes. He served as the governor of Mississippi from 1817 to 1820, and he was a member of the Democratic-Republican Party. This party held the office from 1817 to 1825. David Holmes was succeeded by George Poindexter, who served until 1822. Then, he was succeeded by Walter Leake, who served from 1822 to 1825. After that, the party broke up into the National Republican and Democratic parties.

Current Governor
Tate Reeves
Governor Since
Jan 14, 2020
# of Governors Since Statehood

Governors of Mississippi

Which party is the current governor of Mississippi?

The current governor of Mississippi is Tate Reeves, a Republican.

How many governors has Mississippi had?

There have been 54 governors of Mississippi, 41 Democrats, 7 Republicans, and 9 from other parties.

When was the last Republican governor in Mississippi?

The last Republican governor in Mississippi is Tate Reeves, who has served from 2020 to the present day.

When was the last Democrat governor in Mississippi?

The last Democrat governor in Mississippi was Ronnie Musgrove, who served from 2000 to 2004.

Frequently Asked Questions