Governors of Missouri

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Term Start
Term End
Mike ParsonJun 1, 2018-Republican
Eric GreitensJan 9, 2017Jun 1, 2018Republican
Jay NixonJan 12, 2009Jan 9, 2017Democratic
Matt BluntJan 10, 2005Jan 12, 2009Republican
Bob HoldenJan 8, 2001Jan 10, 2005Democratic
Roger B. WilsonOct 16, 2000Jan 8, 2001Democratic
Mel CarnahanJan 11, 1993Oct 16, 2000Democratic
John AshcroftJan 14, 1985Jan 11, 1993Republican
Kit BondJan 12, 1981Jan 14, 1985Republican
Joseph P. TeasdaleJan 10, 1977Jan 12, 1981Democratic
Kit BondJan 8, 1973Jan 10, 1977Republican
Warren E. HearnesJan 11, 1965Jan 8, 1973Democratic
John M. DaltonJan 9, 1961Jan 11, 1965Democratic
James T. Blair Jr.Jan 14, 1957Jan 9, 1961Democratic
Phil M. DonnellyJan 12, 1953Jan 14, 1957Democratic
Forrest SmithJan 10, 1949Jan 12, 1953Democratic
Phil M. DonnellyJan 8, 1945Jan 10, 1949Democratic
Forrest C. DonnellFeb 26, 1941Jan 8, 1945Republican
Lloyd C. StarkJan 11, 1937Feb 26, 1941Democratic
Guy Brasfield ParkJan 9, 1933Jan 11, 1937Democratic
Henry S. CaulfieldJan 14, 1929Jan 9, 1933Republican
Samuel Aaron BakerJan 12, 1925Jan 14, 1929Republican
Arthur M. HydeJan 10, 1921Jan 12, 1925Republican
Frederick D. GardnerJan 8, 1917Jan 10, 1921Democratic
Elliot Woolfolk MajorJan 13, 1913Jan 8, 1917Democratic
Herbert S. HadleyJan 9, 1909Jan 13, 1913Republican
Joseph W. FolkJan 9, 1905Jan 11, 1909Democratic
Alexander Monroe DockeryJan 14, 1901Jan 9, 1905Democratic
Lawrence Vest StephensJan 11, 1897Jan 14, 1901Democratic
William J. StoneJan 9, 1893Jan 11, 1897Democratic
David R. FrancisJan 14, 1889Jan 9, 1893Democratic
Albert P. MorehouseDec 28, 1887Jan 14, 1889Democratic
John S. MarmadukeJan 12, 1885Dec 28, 1887Democratic
Thomas Theodore CrittendenJan 10, 1881Jan 12, 1885Democratic
John Smith PhelpsJan 8, 1877Jan 10, 1881Democratic
Charles Henry HardinJan 12, 1875Jan 8, 1877Democratic
Silas WoodsonJan 3, 1873Jan 12, 1875Democratic
B. Gratz BrownJan 4, 1871Jan 3, 1873Liberal Republican
Joseph W. McClurgJan 12, 1869Jan 4, 1871Republican
Thomas Clement FletcherJan 2, 1865Jan 12, 1869Republican
Willard Preble HallJan 31, 1864Jan 2, 1865Republican
Hamilton Rowan GambleJul 31, 1861Jan 31, 1864Republican
Claiborne Fox JacksonJan 3, 1861Jul 23, 1861Democratic
Robert Marcellus StewartOct 22, 1857Jan 3, 1861Democratic
Hancock Lee JacksonFeb 27, 1857Oct 22, 1857Democratic
Trusten PolkJan 5, 1857Feb 27, 1857Democratic
Sterling PriceJan 3, 1853Jan 5, 1857Democratic
Austin Augustus KingNov 20, 1848Jan 3, 1853Democratic
John C. EdwardsNov 20, 1844Nov 20, 1848Democratic
Meredith Miles MarmadukeFeb 9, 1844Nov 20, 1844Democratic
Thomas ReynoldsNov 16, 1840Feb 9, 1844Democratic
Lilburn BoggsSep 30, 1836Nov 16, 1840Democratic
Daniel DunklinNov 19, 1832Sep 30, 1836Democratic
John MillerJan 20, 1826Nov 19, 1832Democratic
Abraham J. WilliamsAug 4, 1825Jan 20, 1826Democratic-Republican
Frederick BatesNov 15, 1824Aug 4, 1825Democratic-Republican
Alexander McNairSep 18, 1820Nov 15, 1824Democratic-Republican
showing: 57 rows

Missouri is located in the center of the country and has had a total of 55 governors since it joined the United States. The current governor of Missouri is Mike Parson, and he was elected to the office in 2018. He is a member of the Republican Party. He took over for Eric Greitens, who served as the governor of Missouri from 2017 to 2018. Eric Greitens was also a member of the Republican Party.

Who Was the Very First Governor of Missouri?

Missouri was admitted to the United States as part of the Compromise of 1820. At that time, the first governor of Missouri was Alexander McNair. He served as the governor of Missouri for four years, from 1820 to 1824. He was a member of the Democratic-Republican Party. After that, Missouri had a few governors who only served for a year. Frederick Bates served from 1824 to 1825. Abraham J. Williams served from 1825 to 1826. Both men were members of the Democratic-Republican Party. After that, John Miller served as a governor of Missouri for six years, from 1826 to 1832. He was a member of the Democratic Party.

Does Missouri Have More Democratic or Republican Governors?

Throughout its history, Missouri is relatively evenly split between Democratic and Republican governors. The past two governors have both been members of the Republican Party, Eric Greitens and Mike Parson. Prior to this, Jay Nixon was the governor of Missouri, and he served for eight years from 2009 to 2017. He was a member of the democratic party. Before he served as governor, Matt Blunt was the governor of Missouri for four years, serving from 2005 to 2009. He was a member of the Republican Party. Throughout its history, Missouri has had a mixture of governors from both parties.

Current Governor
Mike Parson
Governor Since
Jun 1, 2018
# of Governors Since Statehood

Which party is the current governor of Missouri?

The current governor of Missouri is Mike Parson, a Republican.

How many governors has Missouri had?

There have been 55 governors of Missouri, 37 Democrats, 14 Republicans, and 4 from other parties.

When was the last Republican governor in Missouri?

The last Republican governor in Missouri is Mike Parson, who has served from 2018 to the present day.

When was the last Democrat governor in Missouri?

The last Democrat governor in Missouri was Jay Nixon, who served from 2009 to 2017.

Frequently Asked Questions