Governors of Montana

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Term Start
Term End
Greg GianforteJan 4, 2021-Republican
Steve BullockJan 7, 2013Jan 4, 2021Democratic
Brian SchweitzerJan 3, 2005Jan 7, 2013Democratic
Judy MartzJan 1, 2001Jan 3, 2005Republican
Marc RacicotJan 4, 1993Jan 1, 2001Republican
Stan StephensJan 2, 1989Jan 4, 1993Republican
Ted SchwindenJan 5, 1981Jan 2, 1989Democratic
Thomas Lee JudgeJan 1, 1973Jan 5, 1981Democratic
Forrest H. AndersonJan 6, 1969Jan 1, 1973Democratic
Tim BabcockJan 25, 1962Jan 6, 1969Republican
Donald Grant NutterJan 2, 1961Jan 25, 1962Republican
J. Hugo AronsonJan 5, 1953Jan 2, 1961Republican
John W. BonnerJan 3, 1949Jan 5, 1953Democratic
Sam C. FordJan 6, 1941Jan 3, 1949Republican
Roy E. AyersJan 4, 1937Jan 6, 1941Democratic
Elmer HoltDec 15, 1935Jan 4, 1937Democratic
Frank Henry CooneyMar 13, 1933Dec 15, 1935Democratic
John E. EricksonJan 4, 1925Mar 13, 1933Democratic
Joseph M. DixonJan 3, 1921Jan 4, 1925Republican
Sam V. StewartJan 6, 1913Jan 2, 1921Democratic
Edwin L. NorrisApr 1, 1908Jan 5, 1913Democratic
Joseph TooleJan 7, 1901Apr 1, 1908Democratic
Robert Burns SmithJan 4, 1897Jan 7, 1901Democratic
John E. RickardsJan 2, 1893Jan 3, 1897Republican
Joseph TooleNov 8, 1889Jan 1, 1893Democratic
showing: 25 rows

Montana is located in the Big Sky part of the country and is known for its natural beauty, including Yellowstone National Park. Since Montana joined the United States, the state has had a total of 24 Governors. The current governor is Greg Gianforte, who has held the office since 2021. He is a member of the Republican party, but Montana tends to go back and forth between Republican and Democratic governors.

Who Are the Most Recent Governors of Nevada?

Greg Gianforte is a Republican governor, and he has been the governor of Montana since January of 2021. Prior to Greg Gianforte, the state was led by Steve Bullock, who was in office from 2013 to 2021. He was a member of the Democratic Party. His predecessor was Brian Schweitzer, who held the office from 2005 to 2013. He was also a member of the Democratic Party. These two Governors were succeeded by three Republican Governors, holding office from 1989 to 2005. Stan Stephens served for one term, Marc Racicot served for two terms, and Judy Martz served for one term. Montana has had numerous governors from both major political parties during the past 100 years.

Who Was the Very First Governor of Montana?

The very first governor of Montana took office in 1889. He was Joseph Toole, and he was a member of the Democratic Party. He was succeeded by John E. Rickards, a member of the Republican Party, who served one term from 1893 to 1897. When he left office, the Democratic party had control of the governor's office until 1921. The state had four consecutive Democratic governors, concluding with Sam V. Stewart, who served as the governor of Montana from 1913 to 1921. The office has gone back and forth between both political parties regularly since then.

Current Governor
Greg Gianforte
Governor Since
Jan 4, 2021
# of Governors Since Statehood

Which party is the current governor of Montana?

The current governor of Montana is Greg Gianforte, a Republican.

How many governors has Montana had?

There have been 24 governors of Montana, 14 Democrats, 10 Republicans, and 0 from other parties.

When was the last Republican governor in Montana?

The last Republican governor in Montana is Greg Gianforte, who has served from 2021 to the present day.

When was the last Democrat governor in Montana?

The last Democrat governor in Montana was Steve Bullock, who served from 2013 to 2021.

Frequently Asked Questions