Governors of Ohio

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Term Start
Term End
Mike DeWineJan 14, 2019-Republican
John KasichJan 10, 2011Jan 14, 2019Republican
Ted StricklandJan 8, 2007Jan 10, 2011Democratic
Bob TaftJan 11, 1999Jan 8, 2007Republican
Nancy HollisterDec 31, 1998Jan 11, 1999Republican
George VoinovichJan 14, 1991Dec 31, 1998Republican
Dick CelesteJan 10, 1983Jan 14, 1991Democratic
Jim RhodesJan 13, 1975Jan 10, 1983Republican
John J. GilliganJan 11, 1971Jan 13, 1975Democratic
Jim RhodesJan 14, 1963Jan 11, 1971Republican
Michael DiSalleJan 12, 1959Jan 14, 1963Democratic
C. William O'NeillJan 14, 1957Jan 12, 1959Republican
John William BrownJan 3, 1957Jan 14, 1957Republican
Frank LauscheJan 10, 1949Jan 3, 1957Democratic
Thomas J. HerbertJan 13, 1947Jan 10, 1949Republican
Frank LauscheJan 8, 1945Jan 13, 1947Democratic
John W. BrickerJan 9, 1939Jan 8, 1945Republican
Martin L. DaveyJan 14, 1935Jan 9, 1939Democratic
George WhiteJan 12, 1931Jan 14, 1935Democratic
Myers Y. CooperJan 14, 1929Jan 12, 1931Republican
A. Victor DonaheyJan 8, 1923Jan 14, 1929Democratic
Harry L. DavisJan 10, 1921Jan 8, 1923Republican
James M. CoxJan 8, 1917Jan 10, 1921Democratic
Frank B. WillisJan 11, 1915Jan 8, 1917Republican
James M. CoxJan 13, 1913Jan 11, 1915Democratic
Judson HarmonJan 11, 1909Jan 13, 1913Democratic
Andrew L. HarrisJun 18, 1906Jan 11, 1909Republican
John M. PattisonJan 8, 1906Jun 18, 1906Democratic
Myron T. HerrickJan 11, 1904Jan 8, 1906Republican
George K. NashJan 8, 1900Jan 11, 1904Republican
Asa S. BushnellJan 13, 1896Jan 8, 1900Republican
William McKinleyJan 11, 1892Jan 13, 1896Republican
James E. CampbellJan 13, 1890Jan 11, 1892Democratic
Joseph B. ForakerJan 11, 1886Jan 13, 1890Republican
George HoadlyJan 14, 1884Jan 11, 1886Democratic
Charles FosterJan 12, 1880Jan 14, 1884Republican
Richard M. BishopJan 14, 1878Jan 12, 1880Democratic
Thomas L. YoungMar 2, 1877Jan 14, 1878Republican
Rutherford B. HayesJan 10, 1876Mar 2, 1877Republican
William AllenJan 12, 1874Jan 10, 1876Democratic
Edward Follansbee NoyesJan 8, 1872Jan 12, 1874Republican
Rutherford B. HayesJan 13, 1868Jan 8, 1872Republican
Jacob Dolson CoxJan 8, 1866Jan 13, 1868Republican
Charles AndersonAug 29, 1865Jan 8, 1866Republican
John BroughJan 11, 1864Aug 29, 1865Unionist
David TodJan 13, 1862Jan 11, 1864Republican
William Dennison Jr.Jan 9, 1860Jan 13, 1862Republican
Salmon P. ChaseJan 14, 1856Jan 9, 1860Republican
William MedillJul 13, 1853Jan 14, 1856Democratic
Reuben WoodDec 12, 1850Jul 13, 1853Democratic
Seabury FordJan 22, 1849Dec 12, 1850Whig
William BebbDec 12, 1846Jan 22, 1849Whig
Mordecai BartleyDec 3, 1844Dec 12, 1846Whig
Thomas W. BartleyApr 15, 1844Dec 3, 1844Democratic
Wilson ShannonDec 14, 1842Apr 15, 1844Democratic
Thomas CorwinDec 16, 1840Dec 14, 1842Whig
Wilson ShannonDec 13, 1838Dec 16, 1840Democratic
Joseph VanceDec 12, 1836Dec 13, 1838Whig
Robert LucasDec 7, 1832Dec 12, 1836Democratic
Duncan McArthurDec 18, 1830Dec 7, 1832National Republican
Allen TrimbleDec 19, 1826Dec 18, 1830National Republican
Jeremiah MorrowDec 28, 1822Dec 19, 1826Democratic-Republican
Allen TrimbleJan 4, 1822Dec 28, 1822Democratic-Republican
Ethan Allen BrownDec 14, 1818Jan 4, 1822Democratic-Republican
Thomas WorthingtonDec 8, 1814Dec 14, 1818Democratic-Republican
Othniel LookerMar 24, 1814Dec 8, 1814Democratic-Republican
Return J. Meigs Jr.Dec 8, 1810Mar 24, 1814Democratic-Republican
Samuel H. HuntingtonDec 12, 1808Dec 8, 1810Democratic-Republican
Thomas KirkerMar 4, 1807Dec 12, 1808Democratic-Republican
Edward TiffinMar 3, 1803Mar 4, 1807Democratic-Republican
showing: 70 rows

Recognized as a state in 1803 and affectionately dubbed the Buckeye State, Ohio continues to take steps toward staying on the leading edge of business, technology, industry, and development. Ohio governors have long been prominent figures on the political landscape. This has also been the case during the 70th and current Ohio governor, Mike DeWine's watch since taking office in 2019. That is due in part to Ohio's positioning and status as a swing state, often viewed as a political battleground during multiple presidential elections. Governor DeWine has also quickly become recognized as a hands-on governor being instrumental in employment and healthcare initiatives across the state. There are also more than 11 million residents whose lives are impacted by the decisions Ohio governors make.

Ohio's Governor History

Serving as governor has led to the highest office in the land for two-time governor Rutherford B Hayes along with fellow Republican William McKinley. Both leaders donned the position of Ohio governor en route to their Presidential campaigns. The first governor of Ohio, from 1803 to 1807, was Democratic-Republican Edward Tiffin. The first eight governors of the state were Democratic-Republicans. The first Democratic governor was sworn in in 1832.

Who is the Most Recent Democratic Governor?

Ohio governors are bestowed with a position of power and considerable recognition. They have also predominantly leaned Republican for the past three decades. Starting with the eight-year run by Republican governor George Voinovich from January 14, 1991, to December 31, 1998, and including current Ohio governor, Mike DeWine, there has only been one Democrat to hold the State's highest seat. That was Ted Strickland, who was Ohio's governor from January 8, 2007, to January 10, 2011.

Current Governor
Mike DeWine
Governor Since
Jan 14, 2019
# of Governors Since Statehood

Which party is the current governor of Ohio?

The current governor of Ohio is Mike DeWine, a Republican.

How many governors has Ohio had?

There have been 64 governors of Ohio, 20 Democrats, 28 Republicans, and 16 from other parties.

When was the last Republican governor in Ohio?

The last Republican governor in Ohio is Mike DeWine, who has served from 2019 to the present day.

When was the last Democrat governor in Ohio?

The last Democrat governor in Ohio was Ted Strickland, who served from 2007 to 2011.

Frequently Asked Questions