Governors of Oregon

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Oregon is one of the most vibrant regions in the US and this State of 4 million people. Oregon governors have been required to deal with a myriad of circumstances over the years, from natural disasters to coastal and import issues. The good news is Oregon governors have fared well when dealing with potential crises and important situations. Dubbed the Beaver State, Oregon governors have proven to be up to the task, leading this Northwest state headfirst into the future. From technology to sustainable energy solutions, Oregon continues to push the boundaries. The leadership of Oregon governors is also no small player in these ventures. Today, Oregon, recognized as the 33rd state, looks to be led into a new era by the next generation of leaders.

Who Is the Current Governor of Oregon?

Oregon governors have been leaning predominantly Democrat, a trend the current governor, Democrat Tina Kotek, has continued. In fact, since 1987, a Democrat has won the seat for Oregon governor. The last time a Republican won Oregon's governor seat was on January 8, 1979, when Republican Victor Atiyeh sat as Oregon's governor until January 12, 1987.

Who Was the First Governor of Oregon?

John Whiteaker served as the first governor of Oregon from 1859 to 1862. Whiteaker had moved to the West Coast as part of the California Gold Rush, before taking the Oregon Trail. Once settled in Oregon, he became active in the Democratic party, leading to his eventual run in the governor's race. Oregon became a state during his time in office.

Current Governor
Tina Kotek
Governor Since
Jan 10, 2023
# of Governors Since Statehood

Governors of Oregon

Which party is the current governor of Oregon?

The current governor of Oregon is Tina Kotek, a Democrat.

How many governors has Oregon had?

There have been 38 governors of Oregon, 17 Democrats, 20 Republicans, and 1 from other parties.

When was the last Democratic governor in Oregon?

The last Democratic governor in Oregon is Tina Kotek, who has served from 2023 to the present day.

When was the last Republican governor in Oregon?

The last Republican governor in Oregon was Victor Atiyeh, who served from 1979 to 1987.

Frequently Asked Questions