Cities in McHenry County, North Dakota by Population (2024)

There are 24 cities in McHenry County, North Dakota.

Note: As defined by the US Census Bureau, a city's official boundaries often extend miles beyond the city itself and may even cross county lines. As such, several thousand US cities officially exist in two or more counties (and therefore appear on multiple counties' lists of cities.)

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

2024 Population
2020 Census
Annual Change
Density (mi²)
Area (mi²)
Minot AFB1North Dakota4,0795,974-9.58%5617.27
Rugby2North Dakota2,4612,501-0.4%1,0772.29
Velva3North Dakota1,0361,092-1.33%1,0750.96
Towner4North Dakota451477-1.31%5450.83
Glenburn5North Dakota387401-0.77%1,2860.30
Drake6North Dakota273291-1.44%1381.97
Granville7North Dakota226234-0.88%7130.32
Anamoose8North Dakota215223-0.92%3450.62
Willow City9North Dakota1491510%3180.47
Upham10North Dakota128134-0.78%4130.31
Newburg11North Dakota92940%6570.14
Deering12North Dakota8993-1.11%1,0600.08
Karlsruhe13North Dakota8387-1.19%1110.75
Butte14North Dakota67670%2720.25
Balta15North Dakota63650%2780.23
Voltaire16North Dakota42440%860.49
Kramer17North Dakota25250%1630.15
Gardena18North Dakota23230%670.34
Balfour19North Dakota14160%250.56
Bergen20North Dakota12120%160.75
Overly21North Dakota11110%300.37
Kief22North Dakota770%61.23
Ruso23North Dakota330%120.25
Bantry24North Dakota10-66.67%10.93

Note: City markers shown outside the county boundary mean that a part of the city extends into this county, but is primarily located in an adjacent county.

What is the largest city in McHenry County, North Dakota?

Minot AFB is the largest city in McHenry County.

What is the smallest city in McHenry County, North Dakota?

Bantry is the smallest city in McHenry County.

How many cities are in McHenry County?

There are 24 cities in McHenry County, North Dakota.

Frequently Asked Questions