Cities in Albany County, New York by Population (2024)

There are 25 cities in Albany County, New York.

Note: As defined by the US Census Bureau, a city's official boundaries often extend miles beyond the city itself and may even cross county lines. As such, several thousand US cities officially exist in two or more counties (and therefore appear on multiple counties' lists of cities.)

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

2024 Population
2020 Census
Annual Change
Density (mi²)
Area (mi²)
Albany1New York102,98898,6641.06%4,81221.40
Schenectady2New York69,25768,3610.32%6,40810.81
Rotterdam3New York22,85121,9390.39%2,7858.20
Niskayuna4New York21,14919,7411.24%1,78111.88
Cohoes5New York17,64418,108-0.65%4,6763.77
Latham6New York13,56013,760-0.37%2,3455.78
Roessleville7New York11,32311,843-1.14%2,8124.03
Watervliet8New York10,09210,346-0.62%7,5201.34
Loudonville9New York9,7419,911-0.43%1,9624.96
Westmere10New York7,9346,9610.86%2,5043.17
Colonie11New York7,5707,760-0.62%2,3353.24
Menands12New York4,4354,543-0.6%1,4483.06
Ravena13New York3,1983,266-0.53%2,1781.47
Green Island14New York2,9402,988-0.41%3,9360.75
Voorheesville15New York2,7882,840-0.46%1,3032.14
Siena College16New York2,2862,182-0.13%9,2930.25
Altamont17New York1,6311,665-0.49%1,2881.27
Middleburgh18New York1,1581,1420.35%9291.25
Mariaville Lake19New York99753012.28%1775.63
Schoharie20New York9549480.21%5751.66
Greenville21New York8016913.62%2063.88
Preston-Potter Hollow22New York5473858.1%5410.13
New Baltimore23New York387545-9.16%2201.76
Duanesburg24New York311341-2.2%1272.45
Delanson25New York310314-0.32%4810.64
showing: 25 rows

Note: City markers shown outside the county boundary mean that a part of the city extends into this county, but is primarily located in an adjacent county.

What is the largest city in Albany County, New York?

Albany is the largest city in Albany County.

What is the smallest city in Albany County, New York?

Delanson is the smallest city in Albany County.

How many cities are in Albany County?

There are 25 cities in Albany County, New York.

Frequently Asked Questions