Cities in Otero County, New Mexico by Population (2024)

There are 17 cities in Otero County, New Mexico.

Note: As defined by the US Census Bureau, a city's official boundaries often extend miles beyond the city itself and may even cross county lines. As such, several thousand US cities officially exist in two or more counties (and therefore appear on multiple counties' lists of cities.)

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

2024 Population
2020 Census
Annual Change
Density (mi²)
Area (mi²)
Alamogordo1New Mexico31,68030,9380.59%1,46921.57
Chaparral2New Mexico16,83613,7444.81%28559.06
Holloman AFB3New Mexico4,2903,9431.27%34212.55
Tularosa4New Mexico2,6332,5530.77%9342.82
Boles Acres5New Mexico1,9632,311-4.24%16012.24
La Luz6New Mexico1,9171,7991.59%17910.68
High Rolls7New Mexico1,8171,3706.01%11815.41
Cloudcroft8New Mexico7747540.65%4731.64
Mescalero9New Mexico6991,127-12.07%3917.89
Dell City10Texas2922464.29%1751.67
Twin Forks11New Mexico2593154.44%634.13
Bent12New Mexico2211518.87%366.14
Weed13New Mexico7898-6.02%98.97
Mayhill14New Mexico1345-38.09%19.50
Orogrande15New Mexico050%05.68
Sacramento16New Mexico0600%06.55
Timberon17New Mexico02440%020.29

Note: City markers shown outside the county boundary mean that a part of the city extends into this county, but is primarily located in an adjacent county.

What is the largest city in Otero County, New Mexico?

Alamogordo is the largest city in Otero County.

What is the smallest city in Otero County, New Mexico?

Timberon is the smallest city in Otero County.

How many cities are in Otero County?

There are 17 cities in Otero County, New Mexico.

Frequently Asked Questions