Green Card Lottery Countries 2022

map placeholder

The green card lottery, also known as the Diversity Immigrant Visa Program (or DV program), is a U.S. government lottery program for receiving a United States Permanent Resident Card, commonly called a green card. The Diversity Immigrant Visa Program was established in 1990 to help enable people from a wider variety of countries to immigrate to the U.S. The ration of diversity visas was originally set at 55,000 per fiscal year but decreased to 50,000 per year starting in 2000. The program is known as the “diversity lottery” because visa recipients are randomly selected from the pool of qualified entries.

In contrast to several other U.S. immigration pathways, preference in the lottery is not given to applicants who have employers or family in the U.S. to sponsor them. Importantly, winning the lottery does not guarantee the applicant a green card. Rather, it simply provides the individual an opportunity to apply for the Diversity Visa—however, with an annual average of more than 13.3 million applicants for just 50,000 visas, winning the lottery is still a significant step in many immigrants' green-card journey.

What makes a person eligible for the green card lottery?

Nationals of countries from which fewer than 50,000 natives have immigrated to the U.S. in the last five years (classified as "low-admittance" countries) are eligible to enter the diversity lottery. Generally, natives of China, India, and Mexico are not eligible for the lottery, as the citizens of those countries have many avenues through which to immigrate—in fact, they are three of the four countries with the highest immigration to the U.S..

To be eligible for a diversity visa, the applicant or the applicant’s spouse must be a native of one of the qualifying countries of origin. The individual must also be admissible to the U.S. under the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA). Additionally, the individual must have a high school education (or equivalent) or at least two years of recent qualifying work experience. Eligible individuals have a short time frame during which to apply electronically each year.

Eligible Countries for the 2023 DV Lottery

The U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) groups countries into six regions: Europe, Africa, Asia, Oceania, North America, and South America/Central America/Caribbean. USCIS then calculates each region’s annual diversity visa allotment using recent immigration statistics and an allocation formula. The list is updated every year in September for the year 15 months in the future. For example, the 2023 list was released in September of 2021. Because it is reevaluated each year, the list is subject to change, so a country that has available visas one year may not have the same number, or any at all, the next year. The following countries can participate in the 2023 DV Lottery:

Note: * indicates a country whose territories and dependent areas overseas are also eligible.


Algeria Eswatini Namibia
Angola Ethiopia Niger
Benin Gabon Rwanda
Botswana Gambia São Tomé and Príncipe
Burkina Faso Ghana Senegal
Burundi Guinea Seychelles
Cameroon Guinea-Bissau Sierra Leone
Cabo Verde Kenya Somalia
Central African Republic Lesotho South Africa
Chad Liberia South Sudan
Comoros Libya Sudan
Congo (Dem. Rep.) Madagascar Tanzania
Congo (Rep of) Malawi Togo
Cote D'Ivorie Mali Tunisia
Djibouti Mauritania Uganda
Egypt Mauritius Zambia
Equatorial Guinea Morocco Zimbabwe
Eritrea Mozambique


Note: Although Macau (China SAR) *** is geographically located in Asia, it derives its eligibility from Portugal and so is considered a European country with regard to immigration eligibility.

Afghanistan Jordan Qatar
Bahrain Kuwait Saudi Arabia
Bhutan Laos Singapore
Brunei Lebanon Sri Lanka
Burma Malaysia Syria
Cambodia Maldives Taiwan
Indonesia Mongolia Thailand
Iran Nepal Timor-Leste
Iraq North Korea United Arab Emirates
Israel Oman Yemen


Notes: Although Macau (China SAR) *** is geographically located in Asia, it derives its eligibility from Portugal and so is considered a European country with regard to immigration eligibility. Also, in light of the invasion of Ukraine by Russia and Belarus in February 2022, the possibility exists that immigrations from Belarus ** and Russia ** could be suspended.

Albania Hungary Norway *
Andorra Iceland Poland
Armenia Ireland Portugal *
Austria Italy Romania
Azerbaijan Kazakhstan Russia **
Belarus ** Kosovo San Marino
Belgium Kyrgyzstan Serbia
Bosnia and Herzegovina Latvia Slovakia
Bulgaria Liechtenstein Slovenia
Croatia Lithuania Spain
Cyprus Luxembourg Sweden
Czech Republic Macau (China SAR) *** Switzerland
Denmark * Malta Tajikistan
Estonia Moldova Turkey
Finland Monaco Turkmenistan
France Montenegro Ukraine
Georgia Netherlands * Uzbekistan
Germany North Macedonia ** Vatican City
Greece Northern Ireland (UK)

North America



Australia * Nauru Solomon Islands
Fiji New Zealand * Tonga
Kiribati Palau Tuvalu
Marshall Islands Papua New Guinea Vanuatu
Micronesia Samoa

South America, Central America, and the Caribbean

Antigua and Barbuda Dominica Peru
Argentina Ecuador Saint Kitts and Nevis
Barbados Grenada Saint Lucia
Belize Guatemala Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Bolivia Guyana Suriname
Chile Nicaragua Trinidad and Tobago
Costa Rica Panama Uruguay
Cuba Paraguay

Green Card Lottery Countries 2022

Green Card Lottery Countries 2022