Which Countries Require 6 Months of Passport Validity 2022

map placeholder

What Is a Six-Month Passport Validity Rule?

To enter a country, it is common practice to require a passport to prove your identity. In some countries, the passport must be valid for a set number of months before your trip starts. The length of time a passport must be good past your intended arrival date varies between countries. In some countries, you only need a passport valid three months past your arrival date, while others require at least six months on a valid passport. A six-month passport validity rule applies to countries that require a passport to be valid at least six months past your intended arrival date.

Of course, before visiting a new country, it is always a best practice to check your arrival country's individual rules regarding passport validity. Countries can vary greatly between locations, and a passport that expires less than six months past the arrival date could result in denied entry to the country.

What Countries Require 6 Months?

Certain countries may require a six-month validity requirement on your passport for successful entry into the country. Some countries that apply the six-month passport validity include primarily Asian countries, like China, Vietnam, Thailand, and Malaysia. A handful of countries in South America also use the six-month passport validity. These South American countries include Venezuela, Bolivia, and Brazil.

The six-month rule may seem like a hassle, but it makes sense in the event of an emergency or an extended trip for education or work purposes. If a journey progresses longer than expected, you won't have to worry about being trapped inside a foreign location with an unfamiliar government and an invalid passport.

What Countries Require 3 Months?

Although the six-month passport validity rule applies to several South American and Asian countries, most countries will require a three-month validity procedure. A passport must only be valid three months past the intended arrival date in certain countries. Some of the most commonly visited countries worldwide utilize the three-month passport validity requirements. These countries fall inside the Schengen Agreement, facilitating more accessible travel between neighboring countries.

Countries commonly use the three-month passport validity rule, including Spain, Italy, Sweden, Denmark, and Belgium. In the Schengen Agreement area, there is a tola of 26 different countries that require a three-month validity rule. The United States, Canada, and Mexico also enforce a three-month validity requirement for entrance.

Which Countries Require 6 Months of Passport Validity 2022

Which Countries Require 6 Months of Passport Validity 2022