Countries that Start with 'X'

There are currently no sovereign states that start with the letter "x." However, there are two countries that have the letter "x" in their names: Mexico and Luxembourg. X is the only letter in the alphabet that is not used as the first letter of a country's name.

In Catalan, some countries beginning with "C" are spelled with an "X." Examples include Xina (China), Xile (Chile), and Xipre (Cyprus). Additionally, in the Galician languages, some countries beginning with "J" or have "j" sound are spelled with an "X." Examples include Xamaica (Jamaica), Xapon (Japan), Xeorxia (Georgia), Xibuti (Djibouti), and Xordania (Jordan).