map placeholder
Click on a country for details.

Official Names of Countries 2023

Whether or not we realize it, most of us do not use a country's official name on a daily basis. Nearly every country in the world has an official or formal name that is longer and more formal than its common name. For example, many country names actually begin with the prefix "Republic of," as seen in Republic of Italy, Republic of Colombia, Republic of Korea (South Korea). Alternately, many countries use the similar "Kingdom of," such as Kingdom of Denmark and Kingdom of Norway, or a related form such as "Islamic Republic of," "Democratic Republic of," and "State of," among several others.

The following lists display the common and official names of every country (and several territories) in the world, grouped by continent.

Official Names of Countries in Africa

The following are the common and official names of countries in Africa:

Official Names of Countries in Asia

The following are the common and official names of countries in Asia:

  • Afghanistan – Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan
  • Bahrain – Kingdom of Bahrain
  • Bangladesh – People’s Republic of Bangladesh
  • Bhutan – Kingdom of Bhutan
  • Brunei – Brunei Darussalam
  • Cambodia – Kingdom of Cambodia
  • China – People’s Republic of China
  • Hong Kong - Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China
  • India – Republic of India
  • Indonesia – Republic of Indonesia
  • Iran – Islamic Republic of Iran
  • Iraq – Republic of Iraq
  • Israel – State of Israel
  • Japan – Japan
  • Jordan – Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
  • Kazakhstan – Republic of Kazakhstan
  • Kuwait – State of Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan – Kyrgyz Republic
  • Laos – Laos People’s Democratic Republic
  • Lebanon – Lebanese Republic
  • Macau - Macao Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China
  • Malaysia – Federation of Malaysia
  • Maldives – Republic of Maldives
  • Mongolia – Mongolia
  • Myanmar – Republic of the Union of Myanmar
  • Nepal – Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal
  • North Korea – Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
  • Oman – Sultanate of Oman
  • Pakistan – Islamic Republic of Pakistan
  • Palestine – State of Palestine
  • Philippines – Republic of the Philippines
  • Qatar – State of Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia – Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore – Republic of Singapore
  • South Korea – Republic of Korea
  • Sri Lanka – Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka
  • Syria – Syrian Arab Republic
  • Taiwan - Republic of China
  • Tajikistan – Republic of Tajikistan
  • Thailand – Kingdom of Thailand
  • Timor-Leste – Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste
  • Turkmenistan – Turkmenistan
  • United Arab Emirates – United Arab Emirates
  • Uzbekistan – Republic of Uzbekistan
  • Vietnam – Socialist Republic of Viet Nam
  • Yemen – Republic of Yemen

Official Names of Countries in Europe

The following are the common and official names of countries in Europe:

Official Names of Countries in North America

The following are the common and official names of countries in North America:

  • Antigua and Barbuda – Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas – Commonwealth of the Bahamas
  • Barbados – Barbados
  • Belize – Belize
  • Bermuda – Bermuda
  • Canada – Dominion of Canada
  • Costa Rica – Republic of Costa Rica
  • Cuba – Republic of Cuba
  • Dominica – Commonwealth of Dominica
  • Dominican Republic – Dominican Republic
  • El Salvador – Republic of El Salvador
  • Grenada – Grenada
  • Guatemala – Republic of Guatemala
  • Haiti – Republic of Haiti
  • Honduras – Republic of Honduras
  • Jamaica – Jamaica
  • Mexico – United Mexican States
  • Nicaragua – Republic of Nicaragua
  • Panama – Republic of Panama
  • St. Kitts and Nevis – Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia – Saint Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines – Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago – Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
  • United States – United States of America

Official Names of Countries in Oceania

The following are the common and official names of countries in Oceania:

  • American Samoa - American Samoa
  • Australia – Commonwealth of Australia
  • Cook Islands - Cook Islands
  • Fiji – Republic of Fiji
  • French Polynesia - French Polynesia (Polynésie française)
  • Guam - Guam
  • Kiribati – Republic of Kiribati
  • Marshall Islands – Republic of the Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia – Federated States of Micronesia
  • Nauru – Republic of Nauru
  • New Caledonia - New Caledonia (Nouvelle-Calédonie)
  • New Zealand – New Zealand
  • Niue - Niue
  • Northern Mariana Islands - Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
  • Palau – Republic of Palau
  • Papua New Guinea – Independent State of Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa – Independent State of Samoa
  • Solomon Islands – Solomon Islands
  • Tokelau - Tokelau (formerly Union Islands or Tokelau Islands)
  • Tonga – Kingdom of Tonga
  • Tuvalu – Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu – Republic of Vanuatu
  • Wallis and Futuna - Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands

Official Names of Countries in South America

The following are the common and official names of countries in South America:

  • Argentina – Argentine Republic
  • Bolivia – Plurinational State of Bolivia
  • Brazil – Federative Republic of Brazil
  • Chile – Republic of Chile
  • Colombia – Republic of Colombia
  • Ecuador – Republic of Ecuador
  • Guyana – Co-operative Republic of Guyana
  • Paraguay – Republic of Paraguay
  • Peru – Republic of Peru
  • Suriname – Republic of Suriname
  • Uruguay – Eastern Republic of Uruguay / Oriental Republic of Uruguay
  • Venezuela – Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela
Note: Most names are listed in their English iterations. For example, the proper name of France is the République française, which translates in English to the French Republic. Similarly, the official names for Germany and Mexico are the Bundesrepublik Deutschland and Estados Unidos Mexicanos, which translate respectively to the Federal Republic of Germany and the United Mexican States. Transcontinental countries are assigned to the continent with which they identify politically (i.e.: Russia with Europe).

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

What countries officially have the in their name?

Sixteen countries have the word "the" within their official names. For example, the official name of Niger is "Republic of the Niger.

Frequently Asked Questions