Non Extradition Countries 2020

Extradition is a legal procedure that is a formal request to return a person to another nation after a crime has been committed. If a person does something illegal in one country or state and is later found in another country or state, the sovereign jurisdiction can request that the accused be extradited, or sent back, to face a trial or punishment for the crimes committed.

Even when a jurisdiction requests extradition, there are reasons that the other country can refuse. This includes:

  • Possibility of capital punishment or torture if extradited
  • Failure to fulfill dual criminality
  • Political crimes
  • Fair trial standards

Another reason that a country may refuse extradition is because there are laws in place that prohibit extradition. In these nations, there are typically laws in place that give the country jurisdiction of its own citizens, even if the crime was committed elsewhere. These non-extradition countries include:

  • Austria
  • Brazil
  • People’s Republic of China
  • Republic of China
  • Czech Republic
  • France
  • Germany
  • Japan
  • Norway
  • Russia
  • Switzerland
  • Syria

Non Extradition Countries 2020